News:

Skill.jobs Forum is an open platform (a board of discussions) where all sorts of knowledge-based news, topics, articles on Career, Job Industry, employment and Entrepreneurship skills enhancement related issues for all groups of individual/people such as learners, students, jobseekers, employers, recruiters, self-employed professionals and for business-forum/professional-associations.  It intents of empowering people with SKILLS for creating opportunities, which ultimately pursue the motto of Skill.jobs 'Be Skilled, Get Hired'

Acceptable and Appropriate topics would be posted by the Moderator of Skill.jobs Forum.

Main Menu

How To Pivot Industries With Limited Experience

Started by hasanuzzaman.cdc, August 17, 2020, 11:23:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hasanuzzaman.cdc

When I was an undergraduate student, I had no idea how multi-passionate I would become as I entered my twenties. I never imagined myself finding and sticking to one career path for my entire life. I've always had multiple interests and skills, and often thrive as a "Jill of all trades, master of none."

My first job out of college was with the Department of Human Services. I was eager to use my Bachelor's degrees in criminal justice and psychology. I quickly realized that the role was not a good fit for me. I accepted a position as an Administrative Assistant with a government contractor.

For a while, I loved my job, but it quickly grew old. In that role, I had the opportunity to support various marketing initiatives, and I felt a strong pull towards marketing. There was only one problem – I didn't have any real experience in a marketing role.

How to Pivot Industries with Limited Experience
I decided I wanted to switch industries and was determined to do so, despite the limited amount of experience I had. Below are the five tips that helped me pivot from the government contracting world into digital marketing:

1. Ask someone to help you translate your skills.